Panorama of Opatija
Bike Tracks, Quasi-magnetic Forces, and the Schrödinger Equation, by Mark Levi
Panoramic view on Opatija and the Kvarner bay
N.A.Sharp, NOAO/NSO/Kitt Peak FTS/AURA/NSF spectrum of the Sun

This series of conferences is named after Professor Branko Najman, one of the pioneers of modern spectral theory and matrix analysis in Croatia. The first meeting in the series was a memorial conference for late Branko Najman. The subsequent meetings expanded the original scope to include a broader area of mathematics and its applications centered around spectral theory and matrix analysis.

The purpose of this conference is to commemorate the scientific contribution of Branko Najman by bringing together scientists working in areas of mathematics related to his work, with an emphasis on the following fields of research:

  • General operators and spectral theory, structured operators and matrices,
  • Indefinite inner product spaces,
  • ODEs and Sturm-Liouville theory,
  • Elliptic PDEs including Schrödinger operators,
  • Evolution equations, semigroups, control theory,
  • Matrix analysis,
  • Numerical methods related to any of the above.

Conference schedule is published here. Details about the poster sessions are published here.

The conference will feature plenary lectures by distinguished speakers, contributed talks, and a poster session. The invited plenary lectures will be presented by

  • Nenad Antonić
  • Albrecht Böttcher
  • Lyonell Boulton
  • Zlatko Drmač
  • Pavel Exner
  • Jürg Fröhlich
  • Marcel Griesemer
  • Matthias Langer
  • Christiane Tretter

The organizing committee of the conference consists of Jusssi Behrndt (TU Graz), Luka Grubišić (University of Zagreb), Ivica Nakić (University of Zagreb) and Ivan Veselić (TU Chemnitz).

The advisory board of the conference consists of Paul Binding (University of Calgary), Aad Dijksma (University of Groningen), Vjeran Hari (University of Zagreb), Birgit Jacob (University of Wuppertal), Vadim Kostrykin (University of Mainz), Heinz Langer (TU Wien), Mark Malamud (Donetsk National University), Gerald Teschl (University of Vienna), Zvonimir Tutek (University of Zagreb), Krešimir Veselić (University of Hagen) and Jürgen Voigt (TU Dresden).

The conference venue will be at the Millennium Hotels Opatija. The price of the conference package will be 423€, including 5 nights halfboard in a single room, coffee breaks, wifi, and the use of the conference room and other standard facilities. For price reductions for shared double room accommodation, as well as for accompanying persons please see here. All rooms have a private bath.


Jusssi Behrndt (TU Graz)
Luka Grubišić (Uni. Zagreb)
Ivica Nakić (Uni. Zagreb)
Ivan Veselić (TU Chemnitz)