Dear Colleague,

we would like to invite you to take part in the Fourth Najman Conference on Spectral Problems for Operators and Matrices, to be held from September 20-25, 2015 in Opatija, Croatia.

The purpose of this conference is to commemorate the scientific contribution of Branko Najman by bringing together scientists working in areas of mathematics related to his work, with an emphasis on the following fields of research:

  • General operators and spectral theory, structured operators and matrices
  • Indefinite inner product spaces
  • ODEs and Sturm-Liouville theory
  • Elliptic PDEs including Schrödinger operators
  • Evolution equations, semigroups, control theory
  • Matrix analysis
  • Numerical methods related to any of the above.

The conference will feature plenary lectures by distinguished speakers, contributed talks, and a poster session.

More information about previous conferences in the Najman series can be found on the web-page

For all inquiries please use the e-mail address:

The conference venue will be at the Millennium Hotels Opatija ( The price for the conference package will be 423€, would include 5 nights halfboard in a single room, coffee breaks, wifi, and the use of conference room and other standard facilities. For price reductions for the shared double room accommodation, as well as for the accompanying persons please see the conference website. All rooms have a private bath.

Please register to the conference as described on the web-page in order to facilitate our preparation. The second announcement will follow shortly in early January. All updates to the conference program will be posted on the conference website.

You are welcome to pass this invitation to any colleagues who might be interested in this conference.

With best regards, the Organizing Committee,
Jussi Behrndt (TU Graz), Luka Grubišić (University of Zagreb), Ivica Nakić (University of Zagreb), Ivan Veselić (TU Chemnitz)


Jusssi Behrndt (TU Graz)
Luka Grubišić (Uni. Zagreb)
Ivica Nakić (Uni. Zagreb)
Ivan Veselić (TU Chemnitz)